After working on a query for a long time, we want to make sure that we save the changes we have made. I have lost hours of work over the years because I didn’t save the changes. Azure Data Studio has a few features that can help prevent this from happening.
The first feature is that ADS can “save” your changes if ADS is restarted. This can be turned off in Preferences. I completed a blog post on this feature. Here is the link. This feature allows Azure Data Studio to remember what changes you made and will open the file when you restart ADS.
In SQL Server Management Studio an asterisk is placed on the tab the code is on. Once you save the file, the asterisk will disappear.
Azure Data Studio is similar but instead of an asterisk, ADS uses a dot.
Once the file has been saved, the dot changes to an X.
What is interesting is that if the file has not been saved when ADS is closed, the unsaved state will be retained. The next time you open ADS, the file will be opened, the changes will still be there and the file will be marked as not saved.
This is a short and simple blog post. Thanks for visiting my blog!!!